You are here: Home page › Monuments › Technical attractions
Since 1999, the brewery Radegast has been a part of the largest brewing company in the Czech Republic, Pilsner Urquell Company, Inc. In the brewery Radegast beer has been made since 1970. It is the youngest and the most modern brewery in the Czech Republic.
About 10 water withdrawal places were built under Uhlířský Hill, of which 4 have been preserved until the present. Water was led down by a wooden water line to an adit, which formed part of the water mains system of Bruntál. Nearby there are several inspection pits and three wells. The collected water was pumped to the water tank under Uhlířský Hill and distributed round the town through the water mains.
The largest museum of mining in the Czech Republic offers an informative experience, as well as relaxation and entertainment.
Kilns were built at the beginning of the 19th century, when iron ore was excavated in the territory of the village. The mining of limestone and its calcining in “Wopienkach” as kilns were called in the local dialect also fall to this period. There are two round shaft kilns the operation of which ended in 1965.
The history of Michal Mine stretches back to 1843, when the Austrian Empire started to place two shafts in Michálkovice at Ostrava. One of them was the so-called Michálkovice shaft No 3 renamed Michal after the deceased c.k. court councillor Michael Laier. It is a particularly valuable authentic industrial area as to the building and technical aspects. The reconstruction completed in 1915, carried out according to the design of the eminent architect František Fiala, had a fundamental influence on the shape of the mine.
This valley reservoir on the Morávka River was built between 1961 and 1967. In addition to increasing the water flow below the dam, the purpose of this water work is to decrease flood potential and to continuously use the water flow released over the dam for creating energy and for drinking water. During the 1997 floods, the dam was damaged and after a general overhaul, it is again fully operational.
This unique narrow-gauge railroad in the Osoblaha region was built during the time of the Austrian-Hungarian monarchy and was put into operation on 14 December 1898. The narrowgauge railway connects Třemešná ve Slezsku with Osoblaha.
This building from 1980 has the third largest planetarium hall with a diameter of 12.5m and the second biggest projector in the Czech Republic. Stars, planets, comets and other cosmic objects are projected on the artificial sky in the hall for 100 visitors.
According to the original anti-flood protection plan, which was later complemented by a plan to supply the Ostrava industrial base and population with drinking water, this valley reservoir at the Ostravice railway station was built between 1964 and 1969.
The shaft tower stands in the location of the original mine from 1846. The shaft tower and shaft building were built from fairfaced brickwork in 1913. In the neighbourhood there is a hotel-type house called Jindřich (Henry).
This water mill from the 16th century has a 250 m long raceway and a fully functional mill wheel. It has been renovated and now serves mainly as a pub and a restaurant. You can also find here a small museum containing milling artefacts and a period exposition displaying objects from our grandparents’ farms and kitchens.
Permanent expositions of this branch of the Těšín Region Museum situated in the historical building of the former rectory deal with the Magic World of Trams (timetables, tickets, photographs, a functional model of a tram carriage) and the Tradition of Mining in the Karviná Region which familiarises visitors with the influence of mining on the nature of the landscape, the character and manner of livelihood of the people, the settlement structure or the environment.
Lysá Hora measures 1323m high and it is the highest mountain of the Moravian-Silesian Beskydy Mountains. There is a meteorological station and a telecommunication tower on the top. When the weather is nice, there is a nice view of the entire Beskydy Mountains, Malá Fatra Mountains and sometimes even the West Tatras – Roháče.
The deep black coal mine ended its activity in 1992; the 945m deep mining pit was filled in 1993 and the 775m deep return air shaft in 1994. The mine does not offer tours but you can see the stately above-ground structures – 2 mining towers, which have been declared cultural monuments, an old octagonal chimney, a boiler house and several other buildings.
This concrete arched bridge over the Olše River dates back to 1925. The monument is unique because of the bridge’s arch design. Several years ago, the bridge was lifted with the help of a unique construction procedure to protect it against flooding and to allow it to be completely renovated. The bridge is a major dominating feature of the municipal area of Lázně Darkov and represents an imposing symbolic entrance to the spa area.
This significant technological monument has complete mill equipment, including a mill wheel. It is one of the few well preserved water mills on the Odra River. It is valued for the integrity and uniformity of its grinding equipment and the original structures. It is a protected monument.
This mill, located in the suburb of Kopaná in Frenštát pod Radhoštěm, has been peeling buckwheat since 1861 by using a mechanical method that causes results in the loss of some vitamins. A tour, including a sampling of buckwheat products, can be arranged by phone.
This pseudo-historic cast iron fountain located in the middle of Masaryk Square adds to the pleasant look of this precious historic city centre. The fountain was built in 1900 on the site of an 18th century original stone tank that replaced the original 16th century wooden tank.
One of the most valuable and the most interesting locations in the territory of Těšín Silesia is a bi-cultural elevated fortification in Chotěbuz-Podobora.
The valley reservoir on the Moravice River supplies potable water to the Ostrava region. The project for this dam was processed within the water management plan of our republic in 1930–1932. The reservoir has an area of 287ha and the length of the flooded valley is 10km with the maximum depth of 31m. The 280m long and 33m high dam was built in 1948–1955. At the beginning of the dam there are ruins of the small castles of Medlice and Šternek on both banks.
The mine, furnaces and coking plant together form the complex also known as the “Castle District of Ostrava”, offering you amongst other features a unique view of Ostrava and the surrounding area from the blast furnace, from a height of almost 70 m!
The first beer in the brewery Ostravar started to be bottled in spring of 1898. The brewery complex was built using the typical red bricks and combined with plastered surfaces. Ostravar produces two types of the same brand of beer – light beer Ostravar Original and light lager Ostravar Premium. In the brewery the famous special beer Velvet is also produced, and the semi-dark football lager Bazal.
A unique museum is housed in the wooden building of the scythe plant founded most-likely in the 17th century.
The unique Technical Museum in Kopřivnice covers nearly a hundred and fifty-year-old history of the Tatra car factory since the time, when in 1897 the first car called Präsident was manufactured in Austria-Hungary.
The exposition situated in the chateau maps the origination and development of our railways, the means of transport until the end of the 19th century with small movable dummy trains. It describes in detail the history of the development of production in Vagónka Studénka (a wagon factory) from 1900 until the present. The Wagon Museum is a unique European museum due to the processing of historical materials.
This water mill site with a system of water management structures was gradually built from the end of the 15th until the 20th century. The structures are covered with saddle-back roofs that date back to the second half and end of the 19th century. Mlýnice, including the adjacent turbine and generator room, have been preserved in their original state. A wooden weir is built on the Odra.
This water mill comes from the second half of the 19th century. What makes it unique is the well preserved and operable equipment dating back to the 1930s. The water mill is located in the village centre, on the Lubina River raceway.
An interesting technological monument is this water tower built as a constructivism structure, probably in 1928. This round tower has 6 floors, is 39.4 metres high and has a diameter of 11.4 m. The top floor contains a water tank that no longer serves its original purpose. Inside the tower, some of the original equipment has been preserved.
The core of this vast 16th century monument houses a functioning mill that is unique because of its constitution and millstones. The mill equipment uses a transmission to relocate power from the mill wheel to agricultural machinery. What makes this mill remarkable is its 2.72 km raceway that contains an ice cellar with a 3.60-metre millwheel.
This German windmill is the last of many mills that used to be found near Bílovec. The structure has been completely preserved and has retained most of its internal grinding equipment. The wind wheel is 16 m in diameter. What makes the structure interesting are its two runs powered by two wooden shafts with wheels of two different diameters.
A Dutch wind mill was preserved northeast of the small village of Libhošť, between Příbor and Nový Jičín. It most likely comes from 1842; however, the exact date of its foundation is not known. It was in operation until 1875 and in 1900, it was rebuilt for residential purposes.
It is a subsurface training adit, which is a perfect imitation of the mining environment, and an open-air museum of mine vehicles and mining locomotives. In the openings there are working places for bituminuous coal mining as in the real mine and the machinery is demonstrated in operation. The adit serves as training for coal getters and mining rescuers and is also an interesting place for the general public.
The Vrbice Windy Pit was built in 1911 by Ferdinand Northern Railways and its representative face is oriented to the Ostrava – Bohumín Railroad, the former Ferdinand Northern Railways. An electric mining machine of AEG Union from 1916 is preserved in the machine plant. As far as its construction is concerned, it is one of the most remarkable mines of the Ostrava-Karviná coalfield and it has applied for its listing in the UNESCO World Heritage. Due to its interesting architectural character, the location is protected by the state as a cultural monument of the Czech Republic. At present OKD, DPB Paskov operates a degasifying station for exhausting mine gasses from underground at the Vrbice Mine.
In the past the channel served as a paper-making race and it is still in service. It was built at the turn of the 20th century on the initiative of Carl Weisshuhn, a businessman, for the operation of the factory and the paper-making plant in Žimrovice.
The listed mill of the German type from 1833 is situated in the north of Litultovice in the town section Choltice, where it was transported from nearby Sádek.
The wooden wind mill of the column or ram type was built in 1810. It is still well-preserved. In 1974 it got new blades and was re-roofed but the inside milling equipment was not repaired. There is a possibility of interesting accommodation for anybody who has a positive relationship with nature; you can sleep in the main building, which is heated by a stove or a historical oven and in storied historical cabins.