You are here: Home page › Monuments › Urban and rural reserves and zones
Urban and rural reserves and zones
Originally a miner´s village with hammer mill and lime production is mentioned as a town for the first time in 1339. However, during the 14th century it was degraded to a village again.
It is the only village in the Opava Region with preserved buildings, which are unique evidence of the original folk architecture. The first mention of the village dates back to 1377.
The town of Příbor is one of the oldest in northeastern Moravia. In 1251 it was promoted to the status of a town by Přemysl Margrave of Moravia, later King Přemysl Otakar II. The historical core of the town was named after the famous native Sigmund Freud.
The town was founded at the turn of the 13th and 14th centuries, when it acted as a market town. Its oldest part and pride of the town is the quadrangle, which with its design is among the high points of medieval town planning in our country. About 50 burgher houses, built in late gothic or renaissance styles, often with archways, are protected in the square and adjacent streets.
The town of Štramberk was founded on slopes of Chateau Hill in the second half of the 14th century. At present, thanks to its picturesque scenery and unique complex of town folk architecture, Štramberk is called “Moravian Bethlehem“. The ruin of Štramberk (Strallenberg) Castle with a cylindrical tower called “Trúba“ dominates the town as well as broad environs.